ISC

提升实际工作技能、完善EHS管理程序——中国企业环境、健康和安全管理研究与发展中心案例分享

提升实际工作技能、完善EHS管理程序——ISC环境、健康和安全中心案例分享

对于华城电机(武汉)有限公司的环境健康安全(EHS)经理余洋来说,如何改善华城现有生产设备的环境健康安全状况一直是个难题。华城电机主要为电站与工业厂房提供大型变压器,产品销往武汉当地的中国企业以及GE这种国际企业。随着近年来自政府、法律法规、金融、公众、商界、以及国际贸易等方面对企业的影响和要求,以及企业自身在综合管理、企业形象、国际贸易竞争力等方面面临的重重压力,不论是外界还是企业自身对EHS管理的要求都在不断增加。在2005年加入华城之初,他积累的工作经验主要集中在HR方面,对于EHS的了解,基本上是限于对劳保、工伤的范围。转行做EHS经理之后,余洋发现,作为EHS推行团队组织和牵头人,消除环境健康安全隐患,改善5S现场管理,处理客户EHS现场审核时提出的问题等等工作都要求EHS经理对专业知识有深入细致的了解,并能高效的处理EHS方面的突发问题。而这些仅靠热情和一些基础的知识结构是远远不够的。他急需学习大量的专业知识并掌握一套行之有效的EHS管理程序。

经GE推荐,余洋来到了可持续发展社区协会(ISC)位于广州市中山大学的“广东环境、健康和安全中心”(广东EHS中心)。EHS中心为期望提高EHS管理技能的经理人提供全面的课程。2009年至2010年,余洋共花了15天时间完成了EHS中心提供的三个核心课程,共11们课。能够投入如此长的时间和精力来参加15天的课程,不仅需要他自身对EHS课程的大量付出,更得益于企业管理层的强有力支持。

“这些课程彻底改变了我对EHS的看法,尤其是EHS对于企业可持续发展的重大意义,”余洋说道,“EHS中心课程让我对环境、健康与安全管理有了更全面、更系统的理解。从初级课程到能力培养再到高级课程,我现在对工作感到更有自信。”

在培训过程中,余洋学会了如何召集公司各关键部门开展评估以及例行检查。目前工厂部门经理每星期开展一次EHS评估;评估结果与改进行动将会由工人们张贴在公共告示板上。余洋说:“现在EHS工作绩效直接关系到部门整体绩效的考评,所有部门都必须对各自的EHS绩效负责,整个公司都更有信心能够调动各方资源确保各项EHS改进措施能够顺利实施。” 他不但充分利用在中心的学习时间强化EHS专业知识,还把EHS中心提供的教材带回企业,有针对性的进行二次整理汇编,结合企业的实际需要及同事和所需部门的不同情况,从入门级入手,由浅到深,不断与大家分享,把专业的理论推广到工作实践中去,加强整个企业在EHS的专业知识和领导力水平。

通过学习及余洋和他的同事们一起努力,企业的EHS水平已得到显著提高。华城的工伤事故率(Lost Time Injury Frequency Rate)在2005年-2008年间平均为55分,到2009年因为事故发生数量的增加,更达到有史以来最高的84分。但从 2010年开始,综合治理后,工伤事故发生频率明显减少,2010全年及2011年上半年工伤事故率均为5分。为了创造和确保安全的工作环境,他们还更换消防设施中的水袋,并强化了工厂车间冲床的防护装置。

在环保方面,他们加大了对厂区内生活污水和固体废弃物排放的管理,通过不断提高全体员工对EHS的认知水平,并改善相应的硬件配套设施,使固体废弃物得以按照类别独立处置。他们还加强变压器油料的存放,以避免泄露的发生。

在节能减排方面, 2009年碳排放为752吨, 通过节约能源和使用没有气象干燥炉等少量的设备改造,使2010年的碳排放减少了19%, 降至610吨。

2010年末,鉴于其在EHS方面的突出表现和优异成绩,华城被推荐在GE年度供应商大会上作为先进典型和案例与所有供应商分享经验和成绩。

2011年余洋的工作目标是全面推动企业的EHS管理更上一层楼,积极推进ISO14000及OHSAS18000的国际标准认证,以期在持续的整改后可以使企业达到武汉当地政府所授予的最环保企业的绿色标志。

“在我们最近一次的客户EHS审核中,”余洋接着说道,“发现EHS问题的数量减少了,尤其是以前审核中重复出现的问题大量减少了。我现在正着手启动一项新的行动——在所有工作场所开展由上至下的工作安全检查。通过由12人组成的EHS推行团队,带动全公司的EHS工作持续巩固并不断完善。并希望未来能和EHS中心一起推进这项行动,为我们的员工提供补充培训。”

以上案例是根据与余洋(EHS中心学员)的访谈记录总结而成,可以通过sea@wuhan.fortune.com.tw与他取得联系。

                                                                                                         自2011年1月1日以来,你是第1970位访问者!

ISC

Improving Working Skill, Perfecting EHS Procedure--EHS Academy Business Case Sharing

Improving Working Skill, Perfecting EHS Procedure--EHS Academy Business Success Story

Yang YU, an EHS manager working for Fortune Electric (Wuhan) Ltd, faces many challenges in improving the EHS performance of Fortune's manufacturing facilities. Fortune produces large-scale transformers used in power stations and sizeable industrial plants, supplying its products to local Chinese firms as well as international firms like General Electric (GE). As demand for EHS performance has increased from government, multinational buyers, financiers, and the public, competition in the global marketplace has required such improvement. Accordingly, Fortune began putting more and more emphasis on EHS management. When Yu Yang first began at Fortune in 2005, his primary responsibilities were related to human resources management. At that time, his understanding of EHS was limited to the use of simple personal protective equipment and addressing work-related injuries. After becoming the EHS team leader, he discovered that in order to eliminate EHS hazards, improve their 5S (industrial hygiene-related) performance, and address problems found during EHS field audits of his clients, and so forth, required a sophisticated understanding of how to identify and manage EHS issues effectively, whereas such aptitude could not be achieved through passion and basic knowledge alone. He needed to acquire significant specialized knowledge and understand how to develop an effective, comprehensive EHS management program.

On a recommendation from GE, Yu Yang sought out ISC EHS Academy (Guangdong) at Sun Yat-sen University in Guangzhou. The EHS Academy offers comprehensive instruction for EHS managers looking to improve their technical and management skills. Over a period of 15 days in 2009 and early 2010, Yu completed all 11 courses in the 3 core training modules offered by the Academy. This level of investment in time and energy shows not only a strong personal commitment to EHS management, but also strong support from Fortune's management team.

"The courses totally changed my mindset regarding the value of environment, health, and safety to overall business sustainability," Yu says. "The Academy curriculum systematically gave me a comprehensive understanding of EHS management, starting with entry-level courses and then moving on to skill building and more advanced courses. I am much more confident than I was before."

During the training, Yu learned how to conduct assessments and routine inspections by engaging the leadership teams of each key department within the enterprise. This EHS evaluation program is now conducted on a weekly basis, led by department managers, and all findings and corrective actions are communicated with plant employees via public bulletin boards. Yu says that, "because all the departments have ownership of their EHS performance and it is now tied to their overall performance evaluations, the company overall now and is much better able to mobilize its resources to achieve EHS improvements." Yu not only made full use of the training time to strengthen his own EHS expertise, he also brought the training materials themselves back to his workplace, and customized them to the needs of different departments and colleagues, from entry-level employees on up. In cultivating a comprehensive understanding of EHS management across staff, he put into practiced all the theory he learnt from training, and greatly strengthened Fortune's expertise and leadership in EHS management. Some examples of specific actions include strengthening protection equipment on the punching machine, and regularly replacing water supplies in the fire-fighting facilities.

The efforts of Yu and his team have been paying off in terms of worker safety. From 2005 to 2008, the Lost Time Injury Frequency Rate was 55 points and peaked at 84 points in 2009 (where larger numbers indicate poorer performance). Beginning in 2010, this rate fell until, in the first half of 2011, it was only 5 points.

As to environmental protection, Fortune has increased its emphasis on sewage and solid waste management within the plant, raising employee awareness of environmental health, and investing in facility upgrades to enable separate treatment of different categories of solid wastes. They also enhanced the storage of transformer oil in order to reduce occurrences of leakage.

Finally, Fortune has also increased its energy efficiency and reduced emissions through energy conservation measures and facility upgrades. Between 2009 and 2011, its carbon emissions fell from 752 tons to 610 tons, an improvement of 19%.

Fortune's commitment and performance have been so exemplary that GE chose them to present at their annual Supplier Summit as the model EHS factory of 2010.

In 2011, Fortune has actively pursued compliance with ISO14000 and OHSAS18000 standards, with the goal of being awarded the Environmental Protection Green Certificate by the Wuhan Municipal Government.

"Our most recent client EHS audit," Yu says with pride, "showed a reduction of findings, particularly repeat findings, compared with previous audits. I'm now in the process of launching our next big initiative - a top to bottom Job Safety Analysis for all job sites. The 12-member EHS team will continue to work hard to consolidate and improve company-wide EHS work. I look forward to engaging the EHS Academy further in supporting this effort and providing supplemental training for our employees."

Note: Information was summarized based on the interview with the EHSA trainee, Yang Yu, who can be reached with sea@wuhan.fortune.com.tw

                                                                                                                  Since 1/1/2011,you are the 1734 vistor!